IMPORTANT: You are in the preview session section of the site. if you have already registered for the event, please visit the attendee homepage here. If you have not yet registered, click here.

Expert Education

You have the total freedom to choose any session as it’s happening! Each one hour time block includes 4 sessions of Live-streaming activity & lecture sessions. Unlike our typical in-person conventions where we are limited by room size, our streaming rooms have no limits—you don’t have to commit to a class schedule ahead of time.

Saturday, September 17th

Session One:

10:00am-11:00am EDT

9:00am-10:00am CDT

7:00am-8:00am PDT

Are you looking for a competitive edge in nutrition? This lecture will highlight performance nutrition for beginner, novice, and elite athletes. Learn strategies for carbohydrate loading, pre/post competition hydration, and proper protein allotment for optimal recovery. You can’t compete unless you eat!

Feasting and Fasting – and everything in between! What does the research show, as far as the various patterns of nutrient timing? How does the thermic effect of food raise our metabolism & for how long? What are the proven benefits of time-restricted feeding & why do they occur?

The ecosystem of food is all about making individuals, yourself and your clientele, see the world of nutrition and dietary habits through a different lens. A lens of balance in which we eat foods from all sources, of all colors, of all groups and even prepare them in a variety of ways. We want the ecosystem inside of us to be in balance just like the world around us.

In this presentation, explore the bidirectional relationship between sleep and nutrition, specifically in the context of body composition. Discuss implications on energy balance & utilization, metabolic health, cravings and more. We also review practical sleep assessment and coaching strategies.

Session Two:

11:15am-12:15pm EDT

10:15am- 11:15am CDT

8:15am-9:15am PDT

Within the fitness Scope of Practice, learn the definitions, details, and applications for various vitamins and minerals necessary for human function and improved human performance. Discover the values you need, based on your fitness regimen, to ensure you deliver the Recommended Daily Allowances you require.

Keto or intermittent fasting? Bulletproof coffee or detox teas? If you’re confused by the misinformation on social media and don’t know where to turn for evidence-based nutrition concepts, this is for you! 

Creatine supplementation augments the gains in muscle mass & performance during periods of resistance training. Creatine is by far the most researched supplement in the history of sports nutrition. The last 10 years has seen a dramatic increase in its usage for elderly individuals, increases in immune markers, and cognitive performance. Review the science and application of creatine usage and how to maximize its benefits for all populations. 

Is a calorie truly a calorie? Not in the presence of hormones! What five hormones play a major role in the body’s metabolic pathways & how can we maximize (or minimize) these hormones? Get the low down on these lipolytic hormones to start dropping fat stores.

Session Three:

12:30pm-1:30pm EDT

11:30am-12:30pm CDT

9:30am-10:30am PDT

Functional foods do more than provide your body with essential nutrients; they promote optimal health and help reduce the risk of disease. Learn how to elevate your nutrition and start eating your way to long-lasting health!

Metabolism, a word heard in the fitness industry every single day, but what does it actually mean? Join our panel of nutrition experts as they discuss the basics of metabolic individuality and what you must know about it. Discover tips and tricks to meet your unique needs, improve cellular performance and reach your health, fitness, performance and body composition goals.

Eating slowly and enjoying our food without distraction is something we rarely do. Learn the most effective strategies to become a mindful eater. Understand the connection between mindfulness, weight, and our relationship with food. Learn easy techniques to teach these strategies to your clients.

With the rising concerns of inflammation, poor gut health, detoxification, and boosting the immune system, superfruits have become a hot topic. Unleash the ‘Mfinite’ benefits of an undiscovered superfruit found to support skincare, healthy fat loss, and core health. Discover the power of the world’s greatest antioxidants and spices of life.

Session Four:

2:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

1:00pm – 2:00pm CDT

11:00am – 12:00pm PDT

Discover the 10 super-simple mealtime habits you can change that will lead to effortless weight loss success. No starvation, pills, or gimmicks! Just simple behavioral fixes that won’t leave you starving! Learn easy ways to present these concepts to your clients that still fit within the scope of your practice.

Stubborn baby lbs that won’t come off no matter how much exercise you do? Many women struggle with extra pounds even though they do all the “right” things! Review the roles of our hormones & their effect on weight loss. Discuss several significant factors that can block the process & how to tell if those are the issues for your clients. Leave with the confidence to help your clients successfully implement these strategies and expand your reach!

Many gym-goers are focused on eating clean foods and staying in a specific calorie range to support weight control goals. However, they are often under-eating, triggering the metabolism to backfire and causing the body to compromise important functions – without even meaning to! Could you or your clients be under-eating?

Let’s Open The Dialogue! This powerful session examines the impact of words that either trigger or help with the healing process for clients with an eating disorder. Learn appropriate, and turnkey communication methods, to improve client-trainer relationships and identify the most common types, signs, and symptoms of eating disorders. “Because not saying anything is NOT okay!

Session Five:

3:15pm- 4:15pm EDT

2:15pm – 3:15pm CDT

12:15pm – 1:15pm PDT

Learn what it takes to get clients the results they want! No matter how hard they work out, you know they can’t out-train a poor diet or self-sabotaging habits. Get the script of what you need to ask them to ensure they see results, and what to zone in on.

Studies suggest that nutrition is more important than exercise for achieving weight loss and maintaining a healthy weight. Learn the science behind why popular diets fail and specific training-based nutritional needs. Leave with the knowledge to help your clients reach their goals while staying within your scope of practice.

So much of the weight loss world is focused on avoidance and restriction. Instead of focusing on what not to eat, learn about the top foods to help with overall weight management and how to flavor and spice your food to aid fat burning and stimulate weight loss.

Sports Supplements are typically used in effort to improve maximum performance. However, they can also be used to enhance recovery from various training stimuli. Older adults exhibit a longer recovery period as they age due to training volumes, genetics, and metabolic differences. This presentation will cover the science, efficacy and application of which supplements provide the most value when training to recover optimally.

Session Six:

4:30pm – 5:30pm EDT

3:30pm – 4:30pm CDT

1:30pm – 2:30pm PDT

 

What we eat and how much we eat is a huge piece of the nutrition puzzle. Understanding how to figure caloric intake and proper macronutrient balance can be quite confusing…especially if math is not your forte. Understanding how to calculate nutrition numbers will allow you to coach your clients in a way that produces much greater results that they can maintain for a lifetime. (This session has been pre-recorded.)

Is the hype real? How does IF impact special populations? Let’s separate fact from fiction and dive into the available literature on one of the most popular diet crazes.

Protein intake is crucial for increases in lean body mass, decreasing body fat, and numerous other health markers. The majority of trainers and coaches have misconceptions about the role of protein, how it works & how much to consume. Separate fact from fiction and provide no-nonsense education to better apply specific protein requirements for clients and athletes.

Today, more than ever, it is essential to learn how to navigate through the ever growing crisis of youth and adolescent obesity. As fitness professionals we are called to make a positive and life-long impact on the future of our nation. Learn nutrition guidelines and tips to appropriately, gently, yet effectively target this population.